Beginning the Journey


Everything has a beginning…and our story…our journey with Compassion International has one too.

We have been sponsoring our beautiful children, Elianeth, Emerson and Edthel for three years. It has been such a blessing to watch them grow, receive their letters, and write back.  I have been the personal correspondent for Elianeth and my brother is the correspondent for Emerson.  My parents have done their best to be good correspondents to Edthel, our little girl from the Philippines.  Our Compassion children are a part of our family, and there is something unique in choosing each of them.  Elianeth has almost the same name as my younger sister, Emerson shares the birthday of my brother, and Edthel shares the birthday of my younger sister.  Their names all start with the letter “E” just as ours do. 😀

About two weeks ago, my mom joined ourcompassion, a social network for Compassion sponsors.  Since then…ahem…the sky is the limit! We have been inspired by so many wonderful ideas, and it seems as if we are trying to complete them all at once!  Our children deserve it.  I have to admit, although I have sent Elianeth many letters, stickers, etc. consistently, I have never been one of those sponsors that goes all out!  Lapbooks, folders, frames, ornaments… you get the point.  I never knew you could send so many other things!  It seems as if ourcompassion has opened my eyes to a different perspective of the Compassion guidelines.  And you know what?  I’m glad they did.  My mom also seems a lot more motivated, and I am so very happy to know that little Edthel will be receiving a thoughtful package very soon.

This blog has a beginning, and if you are reading this, you are a part of that beginning.  A few days ago, my brother and I got the desire to create a blog, dedicated to the sweet children of Compassion International.  We eagerly hope that you will follow our journey, as we journal about what we are doing in the lives of our sponsored children.  I also pray that you will be encouraged by our posts to do more for your sponsored child, and build a special relationship that will impact both you and your child.

One comment on “Beginning the Journey

  1. I really enjoy sponsoring these children

Leave your thoughts and bring a smile to my face...