Guest Post: Letter Writing Goals for 2013


Today, I am sharing a guest post written by my friend Lizzie.  Be sure to stop by her blog: www.lizzieforcompassion.blogspot.com

 Five Letter Writing Goals for 2013

With a new year, comes new goals. Here are five letter writing goals I have for 2013.

1. Plan ahead and follow a schedule

Probably my biggest struggle with letter writing is staying on schedule. I often forget to write letters about holidays in advance. This year, I want to set aside time each week to write letters and remember to write for birthdays and holidays in advance.

2. Personalize letters

Sometimes my letters seem like a monologue. I don’t want to bore my sponsored children with that, so I want to personalize them by adding things like their names, “my friend,” and such throughout the letter. I also want to comment about their family and prayer requests. Remembering to tell them how special they are, sharing stories from my life, and telling them that they are part of my family- these are all things that I want to include in my letters more.

3. Remember to take photos

Sponsored children love photos. My one girl always hangs them on her walls. I want to remember to take more pictures of the seasons this year to send to my sponsored children. I also want to make photo cards and collages to send for holidays.

4. Include verses/devotions in every letter

Many sponsored children have said how much Bible verses encourage them. My goal this year is to include a verse or short devotion in every letter I send.

5. Ask thought provoking questions

I have a few older girls who I will have for only a couple more years. I want to spend more time on my letters to them this year. Including questions about their time in the Compassion program and how they came to know Jesus will hopefully help me get to know these precious girls better.

Most of all, I want to be very honest with my sponsored children this year, sharing my prayer requests and struggles. I want to share Jesus’ love with them and let them know how special they are.

4 comments on “Guest Post: Letter Writing Goals for 2013

  1. Teresa Dawn says:

    I love these goals, especially the last one :)

  2. Jill Foley says:

    Lizzie – you are awesome! Thank you for sharing these ideas with us.

Leave your thoughts and bring a smile to my face...

